Home Page




In line with the National Curriculum for Computing, our aim is to provide a high-quality computing education which equips children to use computational thinking and creativity to understand and change the world. The curriculum will teach children key knowledge about how computers and computer systems work, and how they are designed and programmed. Learners will have the opportunity to gain an understanding of computational systems of all kinds, whether or not they include computers. Children will learn to collect and analyse data so the information can be presented in a clear and useful manner. They will also make design decisions to plan, implement and refine the presentation of facts and information. All of this will be completed in the context of and with a solid foundation in staying safe online. Children must know how to navigate the internet safely, deal with unacceptable behaviour online and how their digital reputation and footprint can affect them. By the time they leave Northwick Manor, children will have gained key knowledge and skills in the three main areas of the computing curriculum:


Computer Science: The study of the hardware, software, networking, and processes that give life to a machine to enable it to perform complicated tasks and actions such as coding a Math’s quiz and a platform game.


Digital Literacy: Learning to use technology appropriately and responsibly to survive and thrive in the digital world. It is at the forefront of all lessons and is embedded through classwork and e-safety days throughout the year.


Information Technology: Information Technology and Digital Literacy. These units are designed for children to solve problems with the aid of technology: for instance, designing a new playground and making a story come to life through animation.


KS1 National Curriculum Aims:

KS1 Pupils should be taught to:

 Understand what algorithms are; how they are implemented as programs on digital devices; and that programs execute by following precise and unambiguous instructions

 Create and debug simple programs

 Use logical reasoning to predict the behaviour of simple programs

 Use technology purposefully to create, organise, store, manipulate and retrieve digital content

 Recognise common uses of information technology beyond school

 Use technology safely and respectfully, keeping personal information private; identify where to go for help and support when they have concerns about content or contact on the internet or other online technologies.


KS2 National Curriculum Aims:

KS2 Pupils should be taught to:

 design, write and debug programs that accomplish specific goals, including controlling or simulating physical systems; solve problems by decomposing them into smaller parts

 use sequence, selection, and repetition in programs; work with variables and various forms of input and output

 use logical reasoning to explain how some simple algorithms work and to detect and correct errors in algorithms and programs

 understand computer networks including the internet; how they can provide multiple services, such as the world wide web; and the opportunities they offer for communication and collaboration

 use search technologies effectively, appreciate how results are selected and ranked, and be discerning in evaluating digital content

 select, use and combine a variety of software (including internet services) on a range of digital devices to design and create a range of programs, systems and content that accomplish given goals, including collecting, analysing, evaluating and presenting data and information

 use technology safely, respectfully and responsibly; recognise acceptable/unacceptable behaviour; identify a range of ways to report concerns about content and contact.